Making My Own Equipment

As a BFA in Printmaking being 4 weeks from graduation makes me nervous. No studio, no press, not light exposure unit, how will I live? Luckily I starting freaking out about this long ago and want to share the fruit of that freak out.

I built my own mini studio. It’s still in the works, but it’s fairly functional right now.

DSC_0002

I have an inking station, make out of an old window. The cane from the windowpane reinforces the glass edges and I duck taped them for safety. I placed this on top of a waist height books shelf and wha-la storage and a workstation.

Next came the “clean area”. I bought a kitchen island from Ikea and drilled an antique laundry wringer to it. I made a press bed out of Masonite board, I still plan to build supports on each side with wheels to help guide the bed. I got free blankets by cutting down a set of ruined blankets from the university studio. Next to the press I made my paper blotting station with some new clean white towels and a paper brush. I use a large plastic storage tub for my water bath.

DSC_0004 DSC_0005

As I work primarily with polymer plates I needed a light exposure unit. I built one using a facial tanning lamp I found on EBay. It has a dial to set for minutes. I set it for the approximate about of time and use my phone to measure it more accurately. I built a wooden box and blocked off the sides with mat board to help protect my eyes from the UV light, and avoid an unfortunate tan. At this time I don’t have a vacuum system so instead I use a plate of glass, which I clamp to a sheet of wood with alligator clips. This sandwiches the polymer plate and film work together and is placed inside the wooden box.

DSC_0007 DSC_0008

So far this solves two of my largest studio problems, now it’s just all down to the details.

 

3 thoughts on “Making My Own Equipment

  1. It’s an remarkable article for all the internet viewers; they will take advantage from it I am sure.

  2. starrybird says:

    Great exposure unit. Great post.

Leave a comment